Listen Live
Rickey Smiley Birthday Beach Blowout 2024
Rickey Smiley Morning Show Featured Video

Since the rise of the #MeToo movement in 2017, many state lawmakers either resigned, been explelled or have resigned from their position. Take a look at who these people are.

State Lawmakers Who’ve Left Office Because Of Sexual Misconduct [PHOTOS]  was originally published on

1. Dean Westlake

Dean Westlake

The former representative of Alaska resigned from his position via a letter on December 15 after being accused of inappropriate behavior with several women.

(Photo Credit: YouTube)

2. Don Shooter

Don Shooter

Don Shooter was the representative from Arizona who got expelled from office on February 1, 2018, by a House vote. An investigation revealed that Shooter had a pattern of sexual harassment toward women including one in lawmaking.


3. Matt Dababneh

Matt Dababneh

Former California Asseblyman Matt Dababneh resigned January 1, 2018 after a lobbyist said she was pushed into a bathroom by him in Las Vegas. There he engaged in vulgar behavior in front of her.

(Photo Credit: YouTube)

4. Raul Bocanegra

Raul Bocanegra

Raul Bocanegra a fomer Assemblyman of California resigned in November 2017 after allegations of him kissing and grouping multiple women came out.


5. Tony Mendoza

Tony Mendoza

Former senator Tony Mendoza resigned on February 22, 2018 after an investigatio revealed that he likley engaged in unwanted flirtatious and sexually suggestive behavior with 6 women.


6. Steve Lebsock

Steve Lebsock

Steve Lebsock was expelled from his position as representative of Colorado on March 2, 2018, by a House vote after an investigation revealed he harassed five women, including a lawmaker. He changed his party affiliation from a Democrat to Republican on the day he was expelled.

(Photo Credit: YouTube)

7. Angel Arce

Angel Arce

Former Connecticut representative Angel Arce resigned from his position on April 2 after the Hartford Courant broke a story about him sending affectionate text messages to a 16-year-old.

(Photo Credit: YouTube)

8. Jack Latvala

Jack Latvala

Former Florida Senator Jack Latvala resigned January 5, 2018, due to allegations of sexual misconduct from multiple women.

(Photo Credit: YouTube)

9. Bill Dix

Bill Dix

Former Iowa Senate Majority Leader Bill Dix resigned on March 12 after a website posted a video of the married lawmaker kissing a lobbyist at a bar. Thought the Senate’s ethics code doesn’t state anything about having relationships between lawmakers and lobbyist it does say that lawmakers should avoid “unethical conduct.”


10. Joseph Souki

Joseph Souki

On March 21, 2018, Joseph Souki agreed to resign from his position as Hawaii’s Representative in cooperation with the State Ethics Commission settlement. He was accused of sexually harassing multiple women by forcing himself on them using touch, kissing them and using sexual language. The settlement also asked that he pay $5,000 to the state, make a public apology, and not to seek office for two years.